Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure: Phantom Blood 06

Jonathan blasts Bruford out of the water with the Ripple but finds that this wasn’t enough to defeat him outright.

As such their fight continues as Bruford restrains him with his hair but Jonathan sees his chance when Bruford goes in for a finishing blow, channeling the Ripple through his sword to destroy his arm, and going on to pummel him with the Ripple. However while it would appear that Bruford has survived these attacks as well, the effects are simply delayed as his body begins to break down, and in death he regains his humanity, feeling joy to have fought with someone such as Jonathan and admiring his courage. Renaming his sword Pluck and bestowing it upon him in death.

Before he can properly grieve and show respect for Bruford however, Tarkus smashes Bruford’s remains and goes after Jonathan and the others. Forcing Jonathan and Zeppeli to use the Ripple to amplify their biomagnetism to create a glider, at which point Zeppeli recounts what had happened to him after his encounter with the Stone Mask. Of how he had met a youthful physician in British India who used the Ripple which led him to the mystic Tonpetty in Tibet, and of how Tonpetty had told him that if he were to learn the Ripple it would end in his destruction. This flashback being cut short as Tarkus smashes the glider into a nearby castle, and to their astonishment, emerges relatively unscathed.

However when Zeppeli tells Jonathan to take Poco and hide, Tarkus uses it as an opportunity to trap and engage Jonathan in a death match of tug of war where only after beheading their opponent, can they unlock their chains. Outside Zeppeli laments his inability to use the Ripple to destroy metal and Speedwagon curses himself for being so useless, but Poco remembering how his older sister had told him to stop being such a coward, gathers enough resolve to squeeze through a window in an attempt to open the door from the inside, knowing what would happen to his sister if Tarkus and to a greater extent Dio were to beat them. And while he takes a hit from Tarkus he manages to open the door to allow Zeppeli to come to Jonathan’s aid, Zeppeli recognises this situation to be what Tonpetty had spoken of and accepts his fate.

Thoughts:

A pretty cool episode to say the least, the finishing moment with Zeppeli leading into Roundabout was simply awesome, but even before that we saw Bruford be met with a death worthy of a chivalrous knight such as himself and the otherwise useless Poco prove his worth. Overall it felt nicely balanced.

To start with Bruford, while the use of character’s shocked expressions to provide narrative made it somewhat clunky, the fight itself wasn’t that bad. Looking over it lengthwise it doesn’t seem as long or drawn out as it could have been, Jonathan turned things around and then just pummeled him, and the respect that Bruford showed Jonathan in his dying moments was great, while Tarkus may seem beyond redemption the same couldn’t have exactly been said for him. In showing admiration towards and leaving him his sword out of admiration, he has placed himself in a strange middle ground between friend and foe.

Other than that I also liked the development that we saw Poco go through, he might have been introduced only a single episode ago but he seemed like the sort of character who was only introduced to fill a character archetype. Especially with how quickly the story should be progressing with the lead up to the climactic battle with Dio and time skip to Battle Tendency (a part which I’m looking forward to). So while kind of crammed in, I liked that his character was able to play some sort of role and on top of that receive some nice development in the form of him realising that he has to toughen up and his relationship with his sister Peggy.

Most of all though, while cliche the extra detail to Zeppeli’s character and what it led to really made this episode or at least the ending a great one. The idea of a character being aware of their eventual and unavoidable demise along a certain path isn’t exactly original but despite only being introduced in a single episode it was executed nicely. Managing to further cement Zeppeli’s conviction to destroy the mask and put in place something that must have always been going through his mind until he recognised it at the very end of the episode. And on top of that Zeppeli will be going up against Tarkus with nothing to lose, his end is set in place but not the way he will get there.

19 Responses to Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure: Phantom Blood 06

  1. love advice says:

    What’s up to all, the contents present at this web page are actually amazing for people knowledge, well, keep up the nice work fellows.

  2. Retro twat says:

    Hello! Excellent blog. You offer a great diversity of knowledge which makes your blog an excellent tool.
    I notice that your site provides many of the similar related material that my blog offers.
    Would you be interested in a hyperlink exchange?
    My blog get over 20,000 visitors a week. If you’re interested in more information, I’d love to hear from you.
    Email me at brandon.coker@gmail.com.

  3. Greetings from Colorado! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to browse your website on my iphone during lunch break. I love the knowledge you present here and can’t
    wait to take a look when I get home. I’m shocked at how fast your blog loaded on my phone .. I’m not even using WIFI,
    just 3G .. Anyhow, excellent site!

  4. Kristal says:

    I am new to developing internet sites and I was wanting to know
    if having your site title relevant to your articles and other content really that important?

    I see your title, “Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure: Phantom Blood 06 | Gin_no_Dangan ” does appear to be spot on with what your
    blog is about however, I prefer to keep my title less content descriptive and based more
    around site branding. Would you think this is a good idea or bad idea?

    Any help would be greatly valued.

  5. Greetings! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering if you
    knew where I could get a captcha tool for my
    comment form? Seems I’m using the same blog engine as yours and I’m having difficulty finding one?
    Thanks a lot!

  6. Wet Pussy says:

    Incredible! I’m truly enjoying the design and style of your site. Are you using a custom made template or is this freely available to all users? If you don’t want to say
    the name of it out in the public, please contact me at: lynwoodchang@web.
    de. I’d really like to get my hands on this template! Appreciate it.

  7. Latesha says:

    I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest
    but your sites really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back down the road. Cheers

  8. Ignacio says:

    Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this website. It’s simple, yet effective.

    A lot of times it’s tough to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and appearance. I must say you’ve done a excellent job with this.
    In addition, the blog loads super fast for me on Chrome.

    Exceptional Blog!

  9. Elvin says:

    Hello there just came upon your website via Bing after I typed in, “Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure: Phantom Blood 06 | Gin_no_Dangan”
    or something similar (can’t quite remember exactly). In any case, I’m happy I found
    it because your content is exactly what I’m looking for (writing a college paper) and I hope you don’t mind if I collect some material from here and I will
    of course credit you as the source. Thanks.

  10. Hey there! This post could not be written any better! Reading through this post
    reminds me of my good old room mate! He
    always kept talking about this. I will forward
    this write-up to him. Fairly certain he will have a
    good read. Thanks for sharing!

  11. Arlie says:

    Hello there! This is my first visit to your blog!
    We are a group of volunteers and starting a new initiative in
    a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us beneficial
    information to work on. You have done a marvellous job!

  12. I’m extremely getting sick and tired of all the trackback spam that my site is getting. There’s a billion plugins it seems, and I have no clue which one would be good for this, or even if I’ve come across all of the plugins that will help me get rid of this. So quick question – what plugin would you advise to get rid of trackback spam? I nonetheless prefer to get comments, but this other stuff is driving me nuts.

  13. Hello fantastic blog! Does running a blog similar to this take a great deal of work?
    I have absolutely no knowledge of coding but I had been hoping to start my own blog
    soon. Anyway, if you have any recommendations or tips
    for new blog owners please share. I know this is off subject but I just needed to ask.
    Many thanks!

  14. Howdy. I’m wondering if you might be interested in doing a link exchange? I notice your website: https://ginnodangan.wordpress.com/2012/11/23/jojos-bizarre-adventure-phantom-blood-06/ and my website are centered around the same subject matter. I’d really like to switch links or possibly
    guest author a write-up for you. Here is my personal contact: gwen-whitson@t-online.
    de. I highly recommend you contact me if you’re even slightly interested. Thanks for your time.

  15. Femjoy Moms says:

    Hey! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any issues with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing a few months of hard work due to no backup.
    Do you have any solutions to prevent hackers?

  16. Rosalyn says:

    We totally appreciate your blog and find almost all of
    your article’s to be what precisely I’m looking
    for. can you offer guest writers to write content in your case?
    I wouldn’t mind creating a blog post or elaborating on a lot of the matters you write about here. Once again, interesting web site!

  17. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was wondering what all is needed to get set up? I’m assuming having a blog like
    yours would cost a pretty penny? I’m not very internet savvy so I’m not 100%
    sure. Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks

  18. bind jquery says:

    Thanks to my father who shared with me on the topic of this website, this blog is actually amazing.

  19. Dexter says:

    Even if you are successful with finding a
    group and talking to pilots, you also won’t have a drone
    yet. The reason that this may be important
    is sometimes lighter drones are unable to carry a decent size
    camera. They’re small, cheap and fun, and being so small, they’ll hurt but
    won’t break skin if you put your hand in the wrong place at the wrong time.

Leave a Reply

